Australian Legal Education Awards

Celebrating excellence in Australian Legal Education

The Council of Australian Law Deans (CALD) and the Legal Education Associate Deans (LEAD) network are delighted to announce that nominations for the 2022 Australian Legal Education Awards (ALEAs) are now open.

Nominations are to be submitted via email attachment to by 11.59pm 11 April 2022 (revised DATE - previously 4 April).

04/04/22 - IMPORTANT NOTE - an extension has been given to submit nominations till 11:59 , 11 April 2022. For those who have already submitted a nomination, you are permitted to revise your nomination and resubmit by the new date if you choose. Inform Julian Laurens of this at 

11/02/22 - Note updated time limit for nominations for Category 2 - Early Career:

With the new timeline for 2022 to meet the presentation of the 2022 ALEAs at the ALAA conference in July, we have allowed a small discretion regarding the maximum period for the Category 2 - Early Career during the 2022 round of ALEAs. Any potential nominee who has a maximum period of five years and one month of sustained contribution to legal education at the close of nominations on 4 April 2022 is eligible to apply for the ALEA Category 2 - Early Career. The evidence provided must be dated within the five year period to ensure fairness to all nominees.

In future, eligibility for this category will require that the maximum five year period be calculated up to 28 February of the year in which the nominee is submitting their nomination for this category, that is eligibility for this category for 2023 onwards will be:

Open to all law teachers at an Australian law school (being a member of CALD) with sustained contribution to legal education of at least 3 years and not more than 5 years as at 28 February in the year of nomination

The announcement of winners is proposed to coincide with the 2022 Australasian Law Academics Association Conference.

The 2022 ALEA awards are offered across five categories:

  1. Excellence in Teaching
  2. Excellence in Teaching (Early Career) (note updated time limit above)
  3. Excellence in Teaching (Sessional)
  4. Excellence in Teaching (Engagement)
  5. Excellence in Research Supervision

In addition there will will be a Outstanding Career Achievement Award which will recognise and honor sustained contribution to legal education over a period of at least 25 years.

A 2022 Nominee information pack is available by clicking HERE

A 2022 Nomination form (for Categories 1 - 5) is available by clicking HERE

A 2022 Nomination form for Outstanding Career Achievement is available by clicking HERE

A 2022 PowerPoint is available by clicking HERE

A 2022 Poster/flyer is available by clicking HERE


1. See the updated time limit for nominations in Category 2 noted above.

2. The 4 page limit in applications/nominations DOES include all claims and evidence.

The winners of the 2021 ALEAs were:

Excellence in Teaching: Dr Kerstin Braun and Associate Professor Noeleen McNamara, University of the Southern Queensland, for developing compulsory law-specific academic integrity resources which provides students with a clear understanding of academic misconduct, thereby eliminating breaches in two first-year core subjects

Excellence in Teaching (Early Career): Mr Aidan Ricciardo, University of Western Australia, for instilling self-confidence in his students and supporting them to be the best learners they can be by making legal studies accessible and inclusive

Excellence in Teaching (Sessional): Mr Alexander Chan, University of Adelaide, for fostering an engaging learning environment that motivates students to learn collaboratively and makes learning fun through real-life cases, multi-media games and popular culture references

Excellence in Teaching (Engagement): Dr Linda Steele, University of Technology Sydney, for transforming students’ understanding of disability and mental health law and empowering them to become agents of disability justice through engaging with communities

Excellence in Research Supervision: Professor Paul Babie, University of Adelaide, for leading the Adelaide Law School in supervision to completion, with students frequently receiving university and faculty awards for thesis excellence and obtaining academic and research positions

The recipient of the Outstanding Craeer Achievement Award in 2021 was:

Professor Emeritus Ian Malkin, Melbourne Law School

Professor Malkin’s teaching has inspired and had a lasting impression on colleagues and students over 35+ years at Melbourne Law School (MLS). Professor Malkin has developed, coordinated and delivered a range of law units and has been involved in broader curriculum development and review. His teaching and learning service, leadership and impact extends well beyond MLS, to the whole of the University of Melbourne, and he has also provided leadership in legal education more broadly at a national level. Professor Malkin’s curriculum development is innovative and he has co-authored leading textbooks in his area of expertise, along with co-authored articles that are a valuable contribution to legal education scholarship. The nomination for this award demonstrates a singularly student-centred approach to teaching which has influenced generations of law students at MLS.

CALD and LEAD offer their sincere congratulations to the successful recipients of the ALEAs in 2021 and thank all nominees for their nominations. We look forward to continued success of the ALEAs in 2022.